Visit EntebbeVisit Entebbe
Forgot password?

Our History

Welcome to Entebbe Guide, the most comprehensive travel guide to Entebbe, the ultimate gateway to Uganda. Find out what to do, where to go, where to stay and what to eat in Entebbe from the experts who know it best. city a world class Holiday destination and Commercial Hub of Africa.

Entebbe is the serene Peninsular and gateway to Uganda, the Pearl of Africa. The name Entebbe, coming from the Luganda word ‘ntebe’ (chair), is derived from a few rocky seats where Mugula one of the Ganda Chiefs of the 19th Century used to hold court.

Ntebe za Mugula

  • 1879: Arrival of the first Catholic missionaries at Kigungu on the shores of Lake Victoria
  • 1893:  Sir Gerald Portal founded Entebbe as a military post and principal port to Uganda.
  • 1903: Declared a Township
  • Late 1940s: Declared a Town Council
  • 1959: 1st structural plan approved
  • 1975, Town Council was elevated to Municipality

Entebbe is a city in Uganda. The city was, at one time, the seat of government for the Protectorate of Uganda, prior to Independence in 1962. Entebbe is the location of Entebbe International Airport, Uganda’s largest commercial airport. Entebbe International Airport (IATA: EBB, ICAO: HUEN) is the principal international airport of Uganda.

Entebbe offers a relaxed stop-over alternative to Kampala on your way into or out of the country by airplane, as the air is clean, the streets are safe to walk, and the old colonial gardens and parks with the lake in the background make for a serene atmosphere.

Year round holiday town with sunshine and rain, entertainment and culture.

Entebbe offers the opportunities of a big city, while retaining the convenience and charm of a small town. You’ll find sandy beaches, parks, a zoo, botanical gardens all a walk or bicycle ride away from the town centre.

Administrative Units

The Municipality has a number of administrative units. There are 2 Divisions A & B and each Division has 2 wards/parishes. The municipality has 24 sub-wards.

Division A

This is one of the Divisions that make up the Municipality it is made up of 2 wards Central and Katabi and has 15 villages in all namely:

  1. Busambaga
  2. Kitubulu
  3. Namate
  4. Bugonga
  5. Kitasa
  6. Nakasamba
  7. Kakeeka
  8. Post Office
  9. Nsamizi
  10. Lunyo East
  11. Lunyo Central
  12. Virus
  13. Banga
  14. Manyago I
  15. Manyago II

Division B

This is one of the Divisions making up the Municipality. It is made up of 9 villages namely:

  1. Lugonjo
  2. Kitoro Central
  3. Kiwafu Central
  4. Kiwafu East
  5. Kiwafu West
  6. Kigungu Central
  7. Mayanzi
  8. Bunonko Misori
  9. Old Entebbe


According to the 2002 Population and Housing Census, the population of Entebbe Municipality stood at 55,086 persons (51% females and 49% Males) accounting for 6% of Wakiso District’s population. Entebbe’s population size has been increasing at an average annual growth rate of 2.2% implying that its 63,820 people according to the projection of 2009 and 69,700 people by the next census in 2013. With an area of 56.2 square kilometers and a population of 55,086 persons, Entebbe Municipality’s population density stood at 980 persons per square kilometer. (The national average is 124 persons per square kilometer).

The population increased by 50% from 1980 t0 1991 and by 22% from 1991 to 2002. The increase in population size is attributed to the Kampala urban spill and the rural to urban migration in search of employment opportunities.